Kansai Map Mie Area Shiga Area Kyoto Area Osaka Area Hyogo Area Nara Area Wakayama Area

Kansai There are seven prefectures included in Kansai region: Nara, Hyogo, Mie, Wakayama Shiga Osaka and Kyoto. Kansai is historically significant since ancient times, being the locations of present-day Nara and Kyoto, old-time capital cities, as well as the center of government administration for more than a millennium. Today, Kansai region is one of Japan’s economic powerhouses, with significant historical, religious and cultural attractions, featuring urban cities and natural landscapes.